Tuesday, 18 March 2014




classic George Eliot SCENES OF CLERICAL LIFE (illustrated)

The Definitive Edition of SCENES OF CLERICAL LIFE
-Illustrated with beautiful vintage illustrations
-Complete, unabridged, and formatted for kindle to improve your reading experience
-Linked table of contents to reach your chapter quickly

“I unabashedly love this book.” Catherine

“The three stories embraced under this title are written vigorously, with a just appreciation of the romance of reality, and with honest adherence to truth of representation in the sombre as well as the brighter portions of life. It demands not only a large intellect, but a large heart, to gain such a candid and inclusive appreciation of life and character as they display.” The Atlantic 1858

“George Eliot bliss at its beginnings. Excellent characters.” Martina

“The stories share a setting – the fictional town of Milby - and some interest in a (different) clergyman working in the area. ‘The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton’ is the tale of a man who fails to appreciate his wife until it is too late, ‘Mr Gilful’s Love-Story’ is about the unexpectedly dramatic early love affair of a now single and unremarkable clergyman, and ‘Janet’s Repentance’ considers the suffering of an abused wife who turns first to alcohol, but then to the religious comfort of evangelical preacher Mr Tryan.” The Secret Victorianist

“The exquisite truth and delicacy, both of the humour and the pathos of those stories, I have never seen the like of.” Charles Dickens

“The production of a peculiar and remarkable writer” Saturday Review 1857

SCENES OF CLERICAL LIFE is one of the most profound and engaging books of all time, made up of three novellas all taking place in the fictional town of Milby. Presented in a beautiful edition specially designed for kindle, this is George Eliot’s first masterpiece which will stay with you forever. 

No comments:

Post a Comment