Thursday, 7 March 2013

The Virgin and The Gypsy by D. H. Lawrence


-complete and unexpurgated with beautiful period photos
-formatted for kindle to improve your reading experience
-linked table of contents to reach your chapter quickly

“The greatest imaginative novelist of our generation” E. M. Forster

"Be still when you have nothing to say; when genuine passion moves you, say what you've got to say, and say it hot." D. H. Lawrence

THE VIRGIN AND THE GYPSY is Lawrence’s final book, a stunning novella about personal and sexual liberation in which a vicar's daughter finds a passionate release from her mundane family life. Fresh from the freedom of a French finishing school, Yvette returns home to England and falls in love with an itinerant gyspy fortune teller.

D. H. Lawrence

David Herbert Lawrence was born in 1885 in Eastwood, Nottinghamshire. His father was a coal miner, but his mother was determined that her children should not end up in the mines. He won a scholarship to Nottingham High School, although he left without qualifications. After studying at Nottingham University, Lawrence received his teaching certificate at 22.

His first novel, ‘The White Peacock was published in 1911, when he was 25. In 1912 he fell in love with Frieda von Richthofen, who was married to Professor Ernest Weekly. Frieda left her husband and three children, and eloped with Lawrence to Bavaria and then to Austria, Germany and Italy.

Lawrence's radical views on sex, life, and art earned him many enemies and he endured official persecution, censorship, and misrepresentation of his creative work throughout the second half of his life.

D. H. Lawrence died at Villa Robermond, in Vence, France on March 2, 1930.
A prolific novelist, story writer, critic, poet and painter, he was one of the greatest figures in 20th-century English literature.

D. H. Lawrence’s novels include: The White Peacock (1911),The Trespasser (1912), Sons and Lovers (1913), The Rainbow (1915), Women in Love (1920), The Lost Girl (1920), Aaron's Rod (1922), Kangaroo (1923), The Boy in the Bush (1924), The Plumed Serpent (1926), Lady Chatterley's Lover (1928), The Escaped Cock (1929), The Virgin and the Gypsy (1930). 

No comments:

Post a Comment