Friday, 19 April 2013


-complete and unexpurgated with beautiful period photos
-formatted for kindle to improve your reading experience
-linked table of contents to reach your chapter quickly

“It interests me, means more to me than any other novel of mine. This is my real novel of America...” D. H. Lawrence

‘All of Lawrence is in that book. Two years he spent writing it, one winter in Chapala and the next winter in Oaxaca’ Frieda Lawrence

THE PLUMED SERPENT is Lawrence’s great book about Mexico, a stunning story of personal and social revolution. Kate Leslie, an Irish widow visiting the country becomes caught up with the charismatic leader of a cult reviving the bloody rituals of the Aztecs.

D. H. Lawrence

“The greatest imaginative novelist of our generation” E. M. Forster

David Herbert Lawrence was born in 1885 in Eastwood, Nottinghamshire. His father was a coal miner, but his mother was determined that her children should not end up in the mines. He won a scholarship to Nottingham High School, although he left without qualifications. After studying at Nottingham University, Lawrence received his teaching certificate at 22.

His first novel, ‘The White Peacock was published in 1911, when he was 25. In 1912 he fell in love with Frieda von Richthofen, who was married to Professor Ernest Weekly. Frieda left her husband and three children, and eloped with Lawrence to Bavaria and then to Austria, Germany and Italy.

Lawrence's radical views on sex, life, and art earned him many enemies and he endured official persecution, censorship, and misrepresentation of his creative work throughout the second half of his life.

D. H. Lawrence died at Villa Robermond, in Vence, France on March 2, 1930.
A prolific novelist, story writer, critic, poet and painter, he was one of the greatest figures in 20th-century English literature.

D. H. Lawrence’s novels include: The White Peacock (1911),The Trespasser (1912), Sons and Lovers (1913), The Rainbow (1915), Women in Love (1920), The Lost Girl (1920), Aaron's Rod (1922), Kangaroo (1923), The Boy in the Bush (1924), The Plumed Serpent (1926), Lady Chatterley's Lover (1928), The Escaped Cock (1929), The Virgin and the Gypsy (1930).

No comments:

Post a Comment